Welcome to the Council Of Caleb.

Welcome Nerd Nation,

I was recently encouraged to start a blog on comics and comic culture, so here goes. First, a little about myself. I read a lot of comics, in a lot of formats, from a lot of publishers. Even though I’m not in the industry, comics and sequential art are a constant part of day-to-life. From the nostalgia of flipping through “hand me down” superhero books, to frustratingly accurate breakdowns of current social movements, sequential art is a unique window in which to view and study the diverse, human experience that we are all a part of.

This will be a hub of my opinions, and you are welcome to agree or disagree with those at your own discretion. Just bare in mind, that at the end of the day, comics are a way to escape the physical world in which we live. Reading our “funny books” should be entertaining, educational, challenging, and provoking. Or, maybe they should just be relaxing. The truth of the matter is that there is no “right” or “wrong” way to appreciate the medium. These are simply thoughts and interpretations.

So, I hope you enjoy. I’d like to give a big shoutout to my home-shop, Kapow! Comics in Sherwood, AR. They have a $1 comic section to die for, so if you’re in the area, stop by. Also, you can look me up on Twitter and Instagram: @councilofcaleb

Leave a Reply

